Bison Skid Plate and Fire Hazard

poordirtfarmer

Reaction score
I recently purchased a diesel ZR2 Bison edition. Had it for three weeks and less than 1,300 miles. I drove a couple of diesel Colorado ZR2's and a diesel Silverado Z71 before this Silverado ZR2. At around 1,300 miles I had a fire next to the DPF filter on top of the AEV transfer case skid plate that I think is only added on the Bison. I've heard that the DPF filter runs over 1,000 degrees during a regen. I have lots of trucks, tractors, sprayers, combines, pickups with DPF filters and have never had a fire. I got the fire out pretty quick but apparently it burned quite a few wires that run along the frame. When looking at the aev skid plate placement and how Chevy tucked the dpf filter on top of the skid plate it appears to be a fire hazard if a driver runs through any grass or crop residue (I'm a farmer) much over a foot and a half.

My service department filed a claim with GM product assistance and the claim was promptly denied because the truck was not in the same state as when the fire occurred (my authorized GM service department removed the skid plate to assess the damage.....not me). GM did not address the design issue at all (why would they?). Just wanted to give guys a heads-up to be careful driving a diesel Bison ZR2 through any grass or crop residue. The skid plate acts like a rake scooping up grass seed and other residue and leaving it on top of the skid plate to dry. The dpf filter then acts as an igniter during a regen sitting less than an inch (maybe even right next to) the dried grass/residue sitting on the skid plate. Not sure what I'm going to do with mine but just don't want anyone else to experience the same.

Attachments

• IMG_8564.jpg
    IMG_8564.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_8620.jpg
    IMG_8620.jpg
    392.3 KB · Views: 38